End of summer angst…with a side of salsa

It’s been an angst-ridden kind of week. Strange, since we were thrilled to pick up the kids on Monday after three weeks of summer camp, and since the WorkHorse was on vacation all week.  This week had no business having even the tiniest bit of angst.  But still, it persisted.

My malaise stemmed not from any unhappiness, but rather from a surplus of it.  It’s been a wonderful summer.  In August, the WorkHorse and I enjoyed three glorious, kid-free weeks, during which I maintained a perfect no-cooking record.  The kids had a great time at camp and were glad to come home.  We had a fabulous, if busy, trip to London and Paris in June and the kids had a great July of day camp and farm time.  While in the city we ate good meals, had great nights out and I worked with clients whom I genuinely enjoy.  All good.  Now I’m staring down the school year and real life and it’s making me just a little itchy.  I’m not worried, I’ve been like this every school year since the first one.  It’ll pass.  Mums will replace the impatiens.  Life will pick up speed.  The WorkHorse will race nearly every weekend this fall, the kids will have lessons and birthday parties.  We’ll host the second annual Thanksgiving Olympics, and with a little luck, all will be great, or mostly great anyway.  I think it’s the change in the changing of the seasons that never sits well with me.  Ignore me.

With the return of the kids came the return of cooking.  We ate ribs with Caesar salad as the homecoming meal.  And then I served them a zucchini chocolate cake, which was delicious…and they had no idea there was zucchini in it.  I made the same cake later in the week only I cleaned it up so I could eat it too – gluten free and lower in fat, and somehow it’s even better.  You should make it.  Don’t tell your kids about the zucchini, it’ll be our little secret.  The Girl made homemade gnocchi with fresh tomato sauce for the second year running.  It’s insanely good even if it does take all day to make.

gnocchi

We also ate chicken chili, flank steak and piles of tomatoes fresh from the garden, sliced and topped with sea salt and our basil (which is turning bitter but I don’t care).  Every meal has also had a jar of our pickles on the table.  (There are 30 large jars of pickles in the basement fridge.  Don’t judge us – they are perfection in a mason jar – just the right balance of sweet and sour.)  We’ve also developed an addiction to the zucchini salad I invented earlier this summer when the Fairy Grandmother came to visit.  Even the Girl loves it.  I’ll include the “recipe” below – it’ll make you love zucchini, I promise.

We made our annual batch of salsa.  This year the kids pitched in too.  Here’s the Boy discovering the joys of peeling a tomato.

boytouchingtomato

By contrast, here’s his younger sister managing the blanching of the tomatoes.

girlpeelingtomatoes

Regrettably I realized we’d forgotten to add cilantro just as we were removing the jars from the water bath.  Oh well.  That’s what you get for letting the kids manage the recipe – but that’s a trade-off I’m willing to make.

More salsa pics:

workhorse and peppers tomatoesforsalsa kidssalsa2013 girlstirring

The WorkHorse made pickled beets.  It turns out he has a thing for canning – who knew?  He tells me it’s extremely satisfying.  I totally agree, as it happens.  In fact, as I write this the first batch of apple sauce is underway. The apple tree is jam packed with fruit this year, after not producing a single apple last year.  (It’s wonderful but it’s a pain in the ass to mow around with so many apples on the ground.)  I think there will be many, many batches of apple sauce to come.

apples

Elsewhere around the farm we are busy planning for the fall renovation of the summer kitchen.  I’m excited but also a little nervous about the impending destruction.  More to come on that front.

In the big shed we added a squat rack and a set of dumbbells.  It’s the best thing ever.

Inside we did a little decorating of the front hall.  We changed  out the old yellow brass fixture for a beauty from Restoration Hardware, which is a replica of a barn door pulley.  I found some $3 prints (turned out to actually be framed fabric) from a local antique store and fixed them up with some new Ikea frames.  A friend of the farm (originally a friend of the Master Gardener) donated some lovely antique keys which went up, as did a collection of family photographs.  The Fairy Grandmother gave us a lovely vintage hand hooked rug which makes the whole thing perfect.  Would it be weird to just hang out in the front hall?  I kind of want to.

front hall

We’ve added a few things to the dining room too, but I’ll save that for another day.

Zucchini Delicious Salad

– a zucchini of any size, made into ribbons with a vegetable peeler

– a glug of avocado oil

– a splash of white wine vinger

– some sea salt

– some lemon zest

Toss and enjoy.

I’ll make sure to enjoy my final days of summer and try to leave the angst behind.

Leave a Reply

