200 loads

When we moved into this place I had to procure not only all of the furniture, but also the linens, the dishes, the plastic wrap, garbage bins, salt, olive oil, etc. etc.  Naturally I hit Costco for the largest of everything since I believe I’ll never get over the novelty of having endless storage.  Yesterday I came to the end of the laundry detergent I bought – the one with the label boldly boasting ‘200 loads’.  Now, this is odd, because I’m pretty sure I did 200 loads of laundry just yesterday.  But I guess we’re well and settled here if I’ve done 200 loads…is it odd that I mark the passing of time by Costco items consumed?!

Other than endless laundry, what we’ve been doing is eating and cooking.  Last weekend we had friends up.  I made Filet of Beef Bourguignon from the Barefoot Contessa, only to overcook the meat at the last minute… #fail.  I also made this bread.  Only this time, I tweeted the book’s author @iknauer to ask what had gone wrong the first time.  He tweeted back immediately with a suggestion for a lower temperature and the bread was much more successful.  I have a love/hate relationship with Twitter, but for being able to reach out to the otherwise unreachable, nothing tops it.  The Girl was envious of my bread making so she made a batch of her own, which we all devoured warm with loads of butter (I’ve had a couple of gluten-free-FREE days).  I didn’t get pictures last weekend as I was busy living, but when she made another batch this weekend I did capture a pic.  This bread is light on yeasty flavour, but fresh bread is never, ever bad – especially with butter and some strawberry jam!DSC_0016

The Northbrook kitchen also produced mulligatawny soup for lunch yesterday and some pumpkin quinoa muffins, to which I added chocolate chips and substituted gluten-free flour for the regular stuff.  I had forgotten about this wonderful recipe, but was inspired by my Bestie this week when she whipped up a batch and gave me one to devour in her kitchen.DSC_0007

Finally,  I made use of a blade roast from the Meat Box with this pot roast recipe.  To be honest, I’m not much of a pot roast girl, but the WorkHorse loves all manner of roasted meat, so he was happy.  The weirdest part of dinner yesterday was sitting down in full sun for dinner. I can’t remember the last time we ate dinner and it wasn’t dark.DSC_0021

We’ve got a busy city week ahead, so the memories of a weekend spent cooking, as well as some leftovers, will have to sustain me until next week.  In the meantime, since it’s St. Patrick’s Day, I leave you with this Irish blessing, which I have always loved.

irish-blessing

 

image credit: http://courtsbrogno.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/an-irish-blessing-of-sorts/

 

One thought on “200 loads

  1. You’re not the only one…It may have been Sharon DV who gauged life’s progress by the depletion of the Costco tinfoil. I remember it because I feel the same way!

Leave a Reply

