Before all else

When the sun popped over the horizon this morning I dragged my butt out of bed to see it coming up over the forest at the back of the property.  You know what I thought?  Sunrise is the best advertisement for living I can think of.  What could make you want to embrace life more than a perfect sunrise?  It’s the visual proof that we get to start again every day – a symbol of our daily do-over.  I’m no expert, but I think watching the sunrise should probably be incorporated into most kinds of therapy.

But now it’s 7:10 a.m. and I’ve been up for about an hour and half.  It’s a big day at Northbrook – the boy’s 9th birthday party.  This year he wanted the exact same birthday as last year.  That’s my boy, all change, all the time!  So, in about 4 hours we should have 20 people, ages 2 to 68, plus a dog, here for swimming, frolicking, and eating ribs and tank cake.  Yes, you read that right.  I made a tank cake.  Pictures to come.  Before then, I’ve got cleaning up to do, quinoa salad to make, the ribs to get cooking and so much more.

But first, I’ve got just a few more minutes to myself.  The morning sun is streaming across the dining room table and my second cup (vat) of Irish breakfast tea is perfect.  It’s cool for the front porch this morning so I’ve been catching up on some of my favourite blogs.  Do you read Orangette?  Molly Wizenberg is a foodie and blogger who can really write.  The writing is wonderful.  I also stopped by The Pioneer Woman to see if there was anything new about gardening.  Not much today, but Ree Drummond takes pretty pictures of her ranch and her food, and it’s always worth a visit.  I’m also loving The Museum of Forgotten Pickles for all kinds of gardening advice as well as Tend, which my friend Tanya told me about.

I’ll post from the city after the weekend with garden updates, assuming I survive the party.  Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

