Farming in the city

Even though it’s Tuesday and we’re all entrenched in the work/school week, my head and heart are still at the farm.  Yesterday, the kids and I planted the watermelon seeds after school.  They are now in the front window (orchids, schmorchids) soaking up everything the southern exposure has to offer.  With a little luck we’ll be enjoying juicy watermelons in a few months!

I spent my early morning hours today deciding which tomato plants I want to reserve from Springbreak Farm.  I thought I was only going to get 3 tomato plants, but I’ll admit, I was dazzled/sucked in by the 100 varieties on offer.  I mean, I need a good eating tomato (Box Car Willie) and a good sauce/salsa tomato (San Marzano).  Then of course I couldn’t pass up a vining cherry tomato (Matt’s Wild Cherry), which I think I’ll run up a farm fence post.  But what about the yellow tomatoes?  I chose Yellow Perfection to check off that box.  And of course I couldn’t pass up a striped tomato (Mr. Stripey – chosen mostly for the name) or a purple tomato (Cherokee Chocolate).  Is it wrong that I’m hoping at least one of these won’t pan out?  Because otherwise we’re going to have a whole lot of tomatoes to eat!

And finally, today we picked up the last of our winter farm boxes.  Here’s what’s on tap this week:

lettuce
popcorn
Lintzaer Delakatess potatoes
Jerusalem artichokes
shell beans
beets
sweet potatoes
parsnips
radish
dried onions
dried parsley
pickles
jam

The winter farm share has been a wonderful experience.  We’ve tried all kinds of new things.  The vegetable phobic child discovered kale chips, and truth be told, we all ate more veggies than we normally would have.  We also got to experience what’s locally available in winter.  Not only did we eat our fill of root vegetables, but we also loved the jams, pickles, cornmeal and other odds and ends made by local growers.  I loved the beets we ate most weekends.  The kids loved the carrots. We had many big trays of roasted vegetables, plus soups and whatever else we could dream up. On the downside, it was probably more radishes than we’d want to eat, and Jerusalem artichokes will rot even the toughest of stomachs – but it was great to learn those things.     It’s been a real pleasure to eat from farms so near to our own and we look forward to resuming the box again soon.

Here’s the last box.  I tried to prop-style it up for you, but you can’t really capture the joy of the brand-new farm box.  If you’re wondering if you should try an organic vegetable box, I wholeheartedly encourage you.  Bon appetit!

4 thoughts on “Farming in the city

  1. First off, you can send extra tomatoes in my direction. (I agree, Mr. Stripey sounds especially compelling.) Also, will you be getting a summer farm box? (Or is that what all these tomatoes are for?) Finally, what ARE those things shaped like strawberries with dried corn stalks on top in the bottom right of your pic?

    • oh don’t you worry – Mr. Stripey and many of his friends will be coming your way 🙂

      No farm box for the summer – given the ambitions of the garden it seems superfluous.

      And the dried things are apparently popcorn, if you can believe that! I’m not sure how one pops it, but I intend to find out.

      thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

