A Northbrook winter

I began this blog with pictures of the farm in full summer, when we bought the place.    Of course I also started this blog in December, and since this is my record of life at our beautiful weekend place, we’re going to have to shift gears a bit.

We came up on Christmas night, after the city’s festivities were done.  We hauled all of the gifts and the leftovers, and once we had unpacked and put the kids to bed I fell asleep on the couch in about 3 minutes flat.  What is it about Christmas that knocks the stuffing out of us?  I realized recently that Christmas if for men and for children.  It sure isn’t for women!  No, the planning, shopping, cooking, baking, and wrapping.  That’s for us.  But the two weeks after Christmas?  That’s for everyone!  After two days more or less prone on the couch, I’ve resurfaced, but I’m not promising that’s a permanent state.

It’s important that you know about me that to say I loathe winter would be an understatement.  I really, truly despise it.  I vow to never say anything bad about any other season so that I may reserve the right to complain constantly and vehemently about winter.

That being said, I feel a little differently about winter at the farm.  It’s very beautiful here in the snow.  The trees are lined in white and if possible, it’s even quieter withe the blanket of snow.  Walking in the fields or woods is silent and peaceful, and there are always animal tracks to decipher.  But I think my favourite part is choosing not to go outside at all.  There’s something wonderful about hiding out in the house when it’s cold outside.  Nothing makes you feel more snug and cozy.  Plus, it leaves someone at home to stoke the fire and make the cocoa.

Leave a Reply

