What’s cooking in September

Two posts in one weekend?  Unheard of.  Of course, I couldn’t possibly be outside doing some fall gardening chores, could I?  Noooooo.  Not when there are good things cooking in the kitchen.

It must be fall when I’ll happily dedicate a whole day to making dinner.  Batch cooking this time of year is de-rigueur and it seems that more often than not something is baking, roasting or simmering.  Yesterday the girl and I decided on a pot of Chunky Chipotle Beef Chili from my new favourite cookbook The Farm.  First, I got to enjoy post-Labour Day shopping: no cottagers = delightfully relaxing grocery shopping.  Then we got to work.  There was a bit of prep work with chopping the vegetables and browning the beef (we opted for beef instead of venison, but I’d definitely try it with venison if our hunter-neighbour brings us any), but it was mostly just sweet, slow simmering for the afternoon.

Here’s what it looked like just before we ate it:

It was delicious. I served it with tortilla chips by way of a bribe for the Boy.  He ate a lot more of than I would have expected, so I guess my ploy worked.  For the grownups there was cilantro from the garden and cheddar cheese.  We also ate a lovely salad of lettuce, cherry tomatoes and cucumber all straight from the garden.

But wait, there’s more!  We had received some rhubarb in our CSA this week and I thought I’d make something with it for the WorkHorse who loves rhubarb anything.  Also in The Farm was a great recipe for Rhubarb-Sour Cream Crostata, and I had most of the ingredients on hand, so I thought I’d whip that up too.  I was a little short on rhubarb and there was none to found, fresh or frozen, at the local store – so I substituted a cup of frozen strawberries which was wonderful.

The picture in the book was significantly more beautiful than ours – here’s the pic I snapped after most of it had been demolished:

Not-so-pretty picture aside, I can tell you that this was one of the best desserts I’ve ever eaten.  Seriously, seriously good.  You can find the recipe here, but you should absolutely buy this book, even if you don’t have a farm of your own ;)

The Farm: Rustic Recipes for a Year of Incredible Food

As for what’s cooking today…chocolate chip cookies and chicken breasts.  The chicken breasts are for me to eat in my quest to protein load so I can muscle load.  The cookies were at the request of the kids who love them more than anything.  As far as we’re concerned, there is only one chocolate chip cookie recipe – Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies from the Joy of Cooking.  Don’t even try any other recipes, trust me.

Here’s hoping there are wonderful things cooking in your kitchen today too!

 

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies from The Joy of Cooking

Ingredients

  •    1 cup plus 2 tablespoons flour
  •     1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  •     1 stick butter
  •     1/2 cup sugar
  •     1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  •     1 egg
  •     1/4 tsp salt
  •     1 tbsp vanilla extract
  •     1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  •     1.5 cups chopped walnuts

Directions

  • Whisk flour and baking powder
  • Cream butter and sugars.
  • Add egg, salt and vanilla to creamed butter. Stir the flour into this mixture until well combined.
  • Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts.
  • Drop onto greased cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes.
  • makes 24 medium cookies

 

 

4 thoughts on “What’s cooking in September

  1. You’ve been busy! It must be lovely seeing your children play happily outside knowing that when they return they will have a lovely home cooked meal x things don’t get much better x

    • Hi babe,

      I’ll copy it for you and send it to you – maybe not for tonight – but some night soon! it’s more of a weekend dish anyway :)

Leave a Reply

